New goals, fresh start.

Before the wedding, I was getting a bit obsessed with ‘getting fit’. I was working out to exhaustion, eating specifically according to my ‘plan’, and working with a ‘coach’. I say coach in quotations because, looking back, I should have listened to my husband: she had no idea. She made me cut out foods that I loved, and I listened. I’m not talking chips and cookies here, either. I’m talking organic, unsweetened coconut milk in my smoothies. But she told me it was bad, so I listened. She made me stop eating carbs at lunch, and I listened.

Guess what happened? I was cranky, upset, hungry (at times), over full (at other times)..but most of all, I wanted coconut milk, and carbs at night. BADLY.

I was so worried about the wedding. I was so, so paniced. The used-to-be fat girl inside of me kept worrying that when I got my wedding pictures back I would regret it. This was a once-in-a-lifetime kind of thing. If I hated the way I looked in my wedding photos, I’d always regret it.

The big day came, I had my hair and my makeup done, my Mom laced me into my dress, and I put on my earings. Guess what? Not once did I think about what size I looked. Not once. For me, this was a miracle.

gop-ajgirlssneak-4

I went the entire day, and I felt like a princess. I was so happy, and so surrounded by people I loved. It was magical. And I didn’t think about my size. Not once.

On our honeymoon, I walked around in my little bitty bikini…and I rocked it (at least I think I did). I ate way too much food, and I had absolutely anything and everything I wanted for two whole weeks. I didn’t worry about a carb, a fat, and a protein with every meal. I didn’t have 6 meals a day or stop eating carbs at lunch, I just ate. I just lived.

After 14 days of this craziness, we flew back home. I mustered up the courage to climb aboard the scale to judge the damages. Pulling the blue glass scale out from beside the bathroom sink, all those feelings came back. I hadn’t even weighed myself yet and I was thinking “you shouldn’t have eaten all that”. Guess what? I lost 4 pounds during our trip.

I joked with J that the ‘burger’ diet was good for me, and he smiled. He loves seeing me confident in myself, I can tell. “I told you,” he said “you just have to eat when you’re hungry, and stop when you’re full. I know you’ll never let yourself go overboard”. I love him.

So that, my friends, is my new plan. Since we only really buy organic fruits and veggies, grass-fed meats, and whole grains, I should be good to go. Noted that this ‘plan’ probably wouldn’t work for someone who’s taste buds are in a loving relationship with oreos and lucky charms, but I think I’ve got this in the bag.

I am going to up the workouts now that we’re back, and I’m going to eat like a normal, healthy person. Lots of fruits, lots of veggies, and carbs whenever I damn well feel. If I want ice cream, or frozen yogurt, I’m going to eat it..just not for five consecutive days. I am excited to see what happens next. I want abs, and we all know those are made in the kitchen. Come on kitchen, get cooking! 😉

I feel happy…and I feel healthy. I could get used to this wife stuff.

4 thoughts on “New goals, fresh start.

  1. CeeJayKay October 1, 2014 / 7:03 am

    you look ABSOLTUELY STUNNING!!!!! more wedding pics… more wedding pics 🙂 🙂 !!!!!

    Diets are NO GOOD… healthy mindful eating with a consisent exercise plan is good not only for body, but for mind and sould too…

    enjoy MrsThyroidasaurus ENJOY xxx

    Like

    • ashleym October 1, 2014 / 3:01 pm

      Thank you!! I am eagerly awaiting for my “6-8 week waiting period” to be over, then you’ll be wishing you never asked for pictures.. hehe 🙂

      And I agree about diets. No more diets for this girl! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Fattie no more October 1, 2014 / 10:54 am

    I just broke into a smile when I read you didn’t think about your size once. I was a fat bride…looking back now I’m like…girlfriend could you not lose some weight? But on the day….I felt like a princess. As you should. You looked BEAUTIFUL!!!

    I think your eating plan sounds perfect!! I love my coconut milk as well so I feel you on that one. Can’t wait to see what happens going forward;)

    Like

    • ashleym October 1, 2014 / 2:59 pm

      Thank you so much! It was such a happy day.. no bridezilla at all! 🙂 haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

